Skip navigation

venicebeach

I used to revel in the stories told about dogmatic designers like Frank Lloyd Wright and Mies van der Rohe, who felt they needed to be in absolute control of a building’s appearance.  To prevent the facade of his signature building in New York from appearing disorganized, for example, Mies designed the window shades of the Seagram Building have three positions: fully open, halfway open, and fully closed.  Want a little more or a little less light in your office?  Tough luck, pal.  (Upon hearing stories like this at a party, architects usually laugh gleefully, while their significant others roll their eyes and sigh.)

Some architects take the opposite approach; make the design conform to its user, not the other way around.  (Believe me, this isn’t always easy for designers, myself included.)  This relates to my project in two ways:

1. The design should make sense.  It should be efficient and effective.  Style be damned.

2. I’m building this project for ME.  It’s an experiment, and hopefully, the process will help me refine how I practice my trade.  I’m not trying to tell people how to live.  In the immortal words of the Digital Underground, “Doowutchyalike!”

3 Comments

  1. I’m really looking forward to reading about your exploits as this project progresses, Steve. Should be fascinating.

  2. I’m totally starting an significant-others-of-architects website with a giant pair of rolling eyes for the logo.

  3. Digital Underground. Nice.


Leave a Reply

