Skip navigation

Like some other supposedly green certifications (LEED, etc.), I’m naturally skeptical of whether FSC-certified lumber is actually worth the extra cost.  In this case it doesn’t matter, since Audubon’s lumberyard doesn’t offer anything else (in pre-cut studs, at least).  I searched this particular code on the FSC website, and I learned that my lumber came from Ontario.  Not exactly a local product.  (More on this later.)

IMGP5474

http://www.fsc-info.org/vcontroller.aspx?Path=8169df4f-9562-4163-922c-f6870e6d47a5&PK_Person=24954488-efa1-455c-a0ef-b4247d9e4227&NoLayout=True

3 Comments

  1. I am so proud of you for using the internet in an investigative manner!

  2. Did you really expect to have locally grown lumber? All those pine and fir forests in Iowa.

    I get the point though. The certification is a joke. I know I’ve told you about this article before.

    http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&source=web&ct=res&cd=1&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwine.woot.com%2FBlog%2FViewEntry.aspx%3FId%3D7583&ei=C5EdSo7TI5n4MJugsMUF&usg=AFQjCNEwbd-2Wvhjj6GjrFMCYjXdjgJiJg&sig2=aoeI1I9FTlfZ_AOSG4RzBQ

    • If I wanted to use local materials only, I’d have to build a sod house. Heck, I couldn’t even build that, since everything has been tilled to death.


Leave a Reply

